Refugium or Skimmer section?

meemsco

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all!

I am new to saltwater hobby and I am building my first sump. Reading a lot of information and know I need to just dive in and learn in the process. I have a 75g DT and I can barely fit a 29gal sump underneath. Originally, I wanted a skimmer section and a refugium section, but I read on gmacreef that 29gal sump is a bit small for both in case of power failure - ie: with that many chambers, it would be a bit tight on left over volume for back flow. He recommends only have 2 chambers , so either for skimmer/refugium and then return chamber....not all 3 chambers.

So my question is: 1) would 29gal sump be big enough for the power failure overflow if I have 3 chambers? Or would you recommend only 2 chambers? 2) If I only have 2 chambers, which would be more important to have - a skimmer or a refugium? (I also have a small section for filter sock).

Thank you!

Quietman

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I don't think the blanket statement of X gallons for sump is good or bad for back-flow protection can be made.

It's going to be the difference between running volume and max volume your sump can hold.

Take your sump design, measure each compartment include height of water each is expected to run at (height of baffle before next section usually). Add that up. Subtract it from the total the sump will hold (inside measurements of total length/height/width) - that's the amount of water your sump can hold before overflowing.

You can calculate how much the drain will flow into the sump by adding up the drain and return piping and the water height normally above the drain. But test it operational before trusting math completely. :)

FYI - length (in) x width (in) x height (in) / 231 = gallons.

Rolrod39

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0