Reverse osmosis and hole-in-the-head disease

anticlinal

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Perhaps this is off-topic, but I don't know of another form so oriented towards water chemistry in aquaria, so I'm posting here. Worse, it's freshwater, but bear with me.

I have >40 years experience keeping fish. I am employed as a chemist, and have an extensive background in analytical chemistry, and have what I would consider a strong understanding of water chemistry. But I'm stumped.

I have oscars, and they get hole-in-the-head disease. It's been in remission for several years now. However, there is one commonality: when water parameters start to go "bad" (by whatever metric), the larger one gets these opalescent, hazy white spots on his head. I fix it, and it goes away. Oddly, they appear in late November every year for reasons I can't figure out.

However, most recently, I've been trying to lower the TDS; it's about 550 ppm, from the tap water we have. Here's the weird part: every time I try to lower the TDS by replacing the tank water with RO- even over the course of several days to drop it to ~480 from 550- the hazy spots appear, and I know if I continue, the fish will get erosions.

The pH is high (just south of 8.0), the filtration is strong, water quality and clarity is good, other than a bit of nitrate straight out of the tap. Of course, at 550 ppm TDS and pH of almost 8, moving the pH with bisulfate is a monumental task. Supplementation with magnesium sulfate doesn't seem to help too much, if at all. The fish eat strongly, even when affected by erosions.

For the life of me, I can't figure out what's triggering the advent of the disease by using RO. I feed it straight from the RO unit into the sump, trickling it in a few mL at a time into a 120-gallon tank with ~15 gallons of sump volume.