Reverse Osmosis for Aquarium and Home?

Mark Allan

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have been using a water distiller for over 30 years and thinking of replacing it with a newer system. I am also thinking of trying my very first reef tank. When shopping for Reverse Osmosis for both a reef tank and my houses drinking water is there a difference in what I should be looking for? Or is RO water just OR water and buy what ever system I can get supplies for?

OP
OP
Mark Allan

Mark Allan

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
For drinking you don't want DI. Only RO

For saltwater tank you want RO/DI
Actually DI is better for human consumption then RO. there is a book written by a Doctor (forgot the name) called the "choice is clear". But that is a totally different thing to disagree about. My question is what do I need to know when shopping for an RO unit. All my local suppliers only know home use not reefing.

pdxmonkeyboy

Sticks!! Give me the sticks!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Ummm, I am not going to get into a debate about what water you should be drinking. But I would advise you to do a little more research before piping RODI through your home plumbing. ESPECIALLY if you have metal plumbing. It can lead to increased risk of metal toxicity, reduce the amount if electrolytes in the body, and strip minerals from your food if you cook with it.

But hey.. why trust science when you can just find a book that reinforces your beliefs.

lapin

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have been using a water distiller for over 30 years and thinking of replacing it with a newer system. I am also thinking of trying my very first reef tank. When shopping for Reverse Osmosis for both a reef tank and my houses drinking water is there a difference in what I should be looking for? Or is RO water just OR water and buy what ever system I can get supplies for?