Room Moisture

SilkyCoral

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi Everyone,
( I’ve been on the forum for a while but this is my first time posting so if I’m in the wrong forum I apologize. Just let me know where to go and I’ll move the thread over. :))

Background
I have a 300g and a 220g in the same room.
Both have canopy’s (although the 300 has strips of openings on the top) house is open with no doors between rooms (downstairs at least). Room with the tanks is carpeted.

Issue
There always seems to be a light amount of moisture on the carpet from evaporation.
A fan in the room to push the air to the rest of the house did wonders but my partner is less than enthusiastic about this answer.

Is there anything else you’ve tried that has worked in helping to control room moisture?
I’ve been contemplating a dehumidifier but they are fairly loud and electric hogs and since the house is open I’m not convinced it’ll help much.

Any ideas would be very appreciated.

Retro Reefer

Slow and steady wins the race!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
A dehumidifier is probably your only option.. I ran one for years and I’m not sure about energy consumption but the one I had was very quiet, the cost of operating one would be just a small fraction of the cost involved in setting up and maintaining your 500+ gallons of salt water.

Blue Tang Clan

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
2   0   0
+ 1 on the dehumidifier. You can set it on a timer so that it only runs incrementally throughout the day -- maybe when you guys aren't near it (bedtime? work?). You don't need it to run 24/7 and any should help.

On Schedule:
12:00am-5:00am
11:00am-4:00pm

OP
OP
SilkyCoral

SilkyCoral

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Good point. Lol, I honestly didn’t think about a timer even though I use them for everything else. Now I just feel stupid :p

Any recommendations for brands? Sizes?

AlexG

Valuable Member