Safe to change salts every few months?

LeChef

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi I started up my aquarium about 3-4 months ago using reef pro mix for about $70. I’m a student and don’t have tons of money to buy $70 salts every few months (I will of course buy them if necessary). But I was wondering if it’s okay to use Instant Ocean® Reef Crystals Aquarium Reef Salt too and switch the salts whenever I run out. (For money saving purposes) Or could that affect the tank switching salts every few months?

DeniableArc

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi, as long as your salt parameters are close to your water parameters I don’t think it will be a problem.

agame2021

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Well you are gonna have to do it slowly if you want to stay stable. You need to watch your alk, PH, and temp and all that fun stuff. If you already got corals I would do it with small water changes(like 5-10%) every week. If you got fish only you could just take the fish out and do a 50-100% water change and just drip and temp acclimate the fish. It’s all up to what you feel comfortable with.
Again main thing is keeping everything (more than just the salinity) balanced so as not to shock the tank/rock/fish/corals.

OP
OP
LeChef

LeChef

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Well you are gonna have to do it slowly if you want to stay stable. You need to watch your alk, PH, and temp and all that fun stuff. If you already got corals I would do it with small water changes(like 5-10%) every week. If you got fish only you could just take the fish out and do a 50-100% water change and just drip and temp acclimate the fish. It’s all up to what you feel comfortable with.
Again main thing is keeping everything (more than just the salinity) balanced so as not to shock the tank/rock/fish/corals.
Okay I usually do a 10% water change every week so thanks for the help!

nereefpat