Salt switch

slipknotgrrl83

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have been using IO reef crystals for 7 years now, i have been thinking of switching due to super high numbers

Cal 500
Mag 1500-1600
Alk 10-11

I dont want anything fancy, maybe even just switch to regular IO. If i dlo decide to, whats the best way to do it?

Ps: all corals are fine except one hammer that started receding a few weeks ago although im also running high nitrates (not by choice) of about 50ppm and trying to lower it. Thoughts?

homer1475

Figuring out the hobby one coral at a time.
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
While regular IO is fine, just be aware it mixes high in ALK also.

Most of us that run NSW parameters and use IO, lower the ALk with muriatic acid that can be bought at your local hardware store.

Any idea what your phosphates are?

OP
OP
slipknotgrrl83

slipknotgrrl83

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
While regular IO is fine, just be aware it mixes high in ALK also.

Most of us that run NSW parameters and use IO, lower the ALk with muriatic acid that can be bought at your local hardware store.

Any idea what your phosphates are?
Last i checked it was around 0.5, yes also a tad high, i run an algae reactor and skim wet....guess i overfeed ? 65 gallon tank only 5 fish though and cuc, about 15 corals all good but 1

homer1475

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Not saying it is your issue(0.5 certainly isn't that high), but high phosphates can cause stress in corals, which can cause polyp bailout specially in LPS.

Possibly overfeeding which leads to elevated nitrates and phosphates. I'm guessing by the 7 years of using RC, this isn't a fairly new tank?

I currently have 9 fish in my 85G cube(mostly small wrasses). I feed a mix of pellets, and the equivalent of 2 cubes of frozen everyday.