SanClementeEric's 130-Gallon Super Shallow Outdoor Lagoon and Confessions of a Reef-a-holic

SanClementeEric

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Living and dying "by the deal", I'm addicted to searching for, acquiring and accumulating too many "good deals". It's super easy here in Southern California, because there are so many reefers and there are always good deals to be had. Essentially, I'm a hoarder but I try to stick within certain categories.

In the back of my mind, I try to convince myself that if I am going to do anything, I need to go all in and be as professional as possible in that thing. That, for me included IT, R/C cars, filmmaking and aquariums. I work in IT. I ran an online R/C parts business but I sold off my R/C stock and bought an RV with that money. I doubt I could make as much profit with pet products, except if I were to follow one of my dreams and one day open a grand fish store. I dabble still in film production, with an emphasis on post production and own way too many computers and cameras.

My "office" is currently too overstocked with reefing supplies and it has spilled over into a couple of sheds and my backyard and patio. I was seriously starting to get rid of stuff, when "such a great deal" fell upon my eyes. Actually, it was a couple "great deals". And then more and then more, etc., etc.

I have to add that another aspect of the hobby that I enjoy is the interaction with other hobbyists. I am on a couple forums, have joined many clubs and go to a lot of meetings, not just reefing ones but freshwater ones too, when I can. I also enjoy finding deals and using that excuse to drive all over So Cal and meet other "fish people".