Scuba's Sticks and Nems (hopefully)

Scubasteve11

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
It's FINALLY time to start a build thread. I acquired a used ~40 Gallon that included a stand and 24X24 sump for a great price. Shortly after, I found a used SCA 50 and had to have it - I love the looks of a cube. Originally, I intended to run the SCA 50 along with the 24x24 sump and ditch the 40 gallon display, but after A LOT of thought, decided to run both systems plumbed together. Why not right?

I'm still a newbie to the hobby and have a lot to learn. These tanks will be replacing my first SW tank which is an IM 30G Long. I LOVE this tank (might keep it online) but wanted something a little larger with a sump. I've learned SO much with the 30 Gallon over the last year and a half. The 30G hit it's stride exactly after being online for a year. Everything was going GREAT until I made a few changes and started losing all my LPS. I'm still not sure what happened but I believe it was either a rogue emerald crab or salt brand change. Anyhow, as all my LPS died over the course of a few months, my anemones and a single tester Acro were thriving. Hints my decision to have one tank dedicated to sticks and one to nems.

Shortly after acquiring the tanks, my wife and I found out we're having our third child. Accidental Covid baby, oops. We currently have two little girls that are 1 and 3 years old. They are amazing and we are blessed to have such wonderful little girls. Our son (woohoo) will be born late December. With the newest addition to our family, this will be a very slow build thread.

So far I have acquired the tanks, built an aluminum extrusion stand, repainted the 40 gallon stand, redid the overflow on the 40 Gallon, built/added baffles to the sump, plumbed the tanks, and finally filled the tanks with water this evening to test for leaks and dial everything in.

30G.jpg InProcess.jpg WATER.jpg

JReef85

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%