SPSalkalinity is at corals are pale

smh254

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi am new to this site and I need a little help. I have a 40 gallon breeder mixed reef tank with the 20 gallon refuge. I've had this tank up and running for a year and two months now and I'm having problems with my SPS corals turning pale or brown. When I first set this tank up I was using Chinese LEDs. I wasn't getting the results I wanted so I switched out to a four bulb ATI fixture. I've been running this fixture for four months now. All my parameters are undetectable everything is at zero and it's been That way for a year now. I did have a spike in everything when I cycled my tank once the cycle was over and I had no traces of anything nitrates nitrites ammonia phosphates. I use the Red Sea a test kits for everything. I does calcium and alkalinity. calcium is at 440 alkalinity is at 9 temperature is at 78° And my salinity is at 1.025. So I removed my GFO reactor started dosing AcroPower and feeding more thinking the nutrients were too low in the tank. I was doing a 10 gallon water change every week and have stopped and now I'm doing one every three weeks. So my question is what can I do to get the color back on my SPS corals.

reefbeard

Bearded Reefer
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
What are your NO3 and Po4 readings right now? Alk is a little high for an ulns; I would run it no higher than 8dKH. Temp is a little cool as well imo; for proper metabolic function of sps I would keep temps between 80-82. Also, keep in mind to make small adjustments to tank parameters and equipment. Too much at one time may be detrimental to your livestock.

Last edited:

Reefing4eva

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0