Stalled Nitrogen Cycle - Advice?

rhappel

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone,

I'm new to the hobby. I've been trying to read up on stalled nitrogen cycles but my situation seems to be different from the trouble that most people have. I set up a 20 gallon tank about 3 weeks ago. My goal is to start with a pair of clown fish and eventually add some corals after the tank is more established in a few months. I started cycling my tank by using Fritz Pro Aquatic Ammonium Chloride and got my ammonia concentration to 4 ppm. I also added fritzyme 9 live nitrifying bacteria at the same time. A few days later, I thought I was on the right track because my nitrite and nitrate levels began to rise. The rest of my parameters have been stable the entire time: my pH is 8.0, my salinity is 1.025, and my temperature 78 degrees Farenheit. After about a week, my ammonia level was starting to decrease from 4 ppm, my nitrite level seemed to be somewhere between 2-5 ppm, and my nitrate level was somewhere between 80-160 ppm. As the last two weeks have passed, my ammonia level and nitrate level have decreased to 0, while my nitrite level seems to be stuck at around 5 ppm. What am I doing wrong? I know my cycle is not complete because my nitrite level is not 0. What am I supposed to do to get my nitrite level to decrease?

I appreciate any advice that anyone has to offer.

Thanks!

Jekyl

GSP is the devil and clowns are bad pets
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thank you for the response. The puzzling part about the situation is that my nitrate has returned to 0 on its own but my NITRITE level has not decreased at all.
This has to be faulty somehow. If you had nitrate unless doing a water change it wouldn't just disappear

brandon429

why did you put a reef in that
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Duuuuuh da. Duuuuuuuu da. Duuuuda duuuuda duuuda duuda da!

great thread agreed all