Stocking help

BaileysTank

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So I have been setting up a 90 gal (4ft standard) for the past 4 months and am finalizing my fish stocking.
Watchman goby
A pair of osolarious clowns (sorry about spelling)
6 line wrase

here is where I’m uncertain and have questions I want a kole tang but I also like yellow tangs, I’ve tease arched and am getting mixed responses on wether I can house the two together in only a 90 gal? If I can’t house the two together which one do you guys think is better? I understand jokes stay smaller but would like to here you guys es oppions

blaxsun

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
@vetteguy53081 has a lot of tangs in his tank (really nice fish!), so he could probably advise better than I. I only have 4 tangs in my tank: sailfin, powder brown, white tail bristletooth and a half black mimic.

My guess is that in a 90-gallon tank you're probably looking at 1-2 tangs (max).

Some other fish for consideration: melanarus or christmas wrasse, flame hawkfish, marine betta, royal gramma, neon dottyback, lawnmower and midas blennies and possibly a dwarf angelfish like a flame or coral beauty.

nereefpat

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
It might be possible for a while to keep both, maybe indefinitely, but it will be up to their individual personalities. I have seen yellow tangs go postal on other laterally compressed fish in a 90 gallon.

I would pick one. True koles mostly come from Hawaii, so they are hard to obtain at the moment. Yellows too, but there are captive bred ones. Close cousins of the kole that I see would be tomini, or two spot, or white tail, or truncated.

nuxx

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Yellow will do OK for a while. My Black and Gem Tangs got HUGE and I've seen some monster Yellow Tangs in Hawaii.

What about something like a Chevron?

vetteguy53081