sump build???

Redneckreef90

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I want to build a sump for my 90 because i thin that will my cheapest way. Looking at a 40 breeder for the sump. does anyone have any drawn out plans for one and a list of materials I will need and where to get them. This will be my first and I am a total newb at this so all help will be much appreciated.

glb

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You'll need 1/4" inch for the dividers in the sump. You'll also need aquarium safe silicone (ge II is one or look for 'aquarium safe' on the label). A builder's square helps so the divider is perfectly vertical. Let me see if i can find more detailed instructions for you.

Fin

Professional Procrastinator
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You'll need 1/4" inch for the dividers in the sump. You'll also need aquarium safe silicone (ge II is one or look for 'aquarium safe' on the label). A builder's square helps so the divider is perfectly vertical. Let me see if i can find more detailed instructions for you.
Sorry to disagree here, but the GE Silicone 1 is the safer silicone of the two. GE Silicone II uses mold inhibitors. Better yet, use Momentive RTV 103 or 108 (black or clear). Stronger bond and is more of a construction adhesive.

jsker

Reefing is all about the adventure
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Use this stuff, work well for me

redfishbluefish

Stay Positive, Stay Productive
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
@Fin is correct....it's GE Slicone I that is the "safe" hardware store silicone. DO NOT USE GE SILICONE II. What's also important is letting it cure for as long as you can.....I'd say a minimum of three days, but would prefer even a couple days more.