Surf Clam Fish Food

GavinMeyers

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello everyone, I recently just got my first saltwater tank and am slowly learning the basic with some cheaper fish. I have been feeding them raw surf clams and they seem to love it.

I see many different posts on how people would feed their fish clams if they were easily accessible.

what I do for a living is catch process and sell Atlantic surf clams for fishing bait.
my question is, would there be any interest in surf clam aquarium food? I currently sell to a handful of large established aquariums in New Jersey and as far as I know, surf clams have the best natural nutrition. I don’t know how I would do it, maybe chop and freeze, freeze dry into flakes. Freeze whole fresh. The options are endless on that side.

I just really believe that the personal aquarium community could benefit from all natural surf clams.
Any insight is greatly appreciated. I will attach some pictures to show what I’m talking about.

C641D068-C9E4-4381-806E-755E576414EF.jpeg 065C2173-5FDB-4607-A7A0-C455F5D54C49.jpeg

Rtaylor

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Any frozen seafood for fish that isn’t $40 per pound would be great. I think the problem is distribution as it either needs to be frozen or fresh which both require overnight shipping, which is $$$$$.

OP
OP
G

GavinMeyers

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Any frozen seafood for fish that isn’t $40 per pound would be great. I think the problem is distribution as it either needs to be frozen or fresh which both require overnight shipping, which is $$$$$.
My retail fishing customers pay $4 pound currently, I couldn’t imagine my price being more than $10 pound after deep freezing and packaging ETC.

sfin52

So many pedestrians so little time
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0