Switching from LFS natural seawater to LFS premixed

Sunny in Miami

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have been using natural seawater from LFS for 2 years and now I would like to make the switch to premixed LFS saltwater. Should I make small weekly water changes till the water parameters level out?. My LFS says I can proceed with a weekly Wc and that it won't cause problems but I am afraid to make a normal 4 gallon WC and cause the inhabitants to die. I tested the new water parameters and they differ a little. For example my tanks natural SW ph =8.1 and the premixed SW =8.3. Alkalinity : my tank water is @ 9.4 and premixed is @8.9 . I have yet to test for salinity of premixed SW.
Has anyone done a switch to synthetic from natural seawater? Thankyou in advance for your help.

MaxTremors

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have been using natural seawater from LFS for 2 years and now I would like to make the switch to premixed LFS saltwater. Should I make small weekly water changes till the water parameters level out?. My LFS says I can proceed with a weekly Wc and that it won't cause problems but I am afraid to make a normal 4 gallon WC and cause the inhabitants to die. I tested the new water parameters and they differ a little. For example my tanks natural SW ph =8.1 and the premixed SW =8.3. Alkalinity : my tank water is @ 9.4 and premixed is @8.9 . I have yet to test for salinity of premixed SW.
Has anyone done a switch to synthetic from natural seawater? Thankyou in advance for your help.
So long as you’re not changing more than 25%,
and so long as the salinity is +/- 1ppm, you shouldn’t have any issues just starting WCs with the new water. Something kind of odd, NSW has an alkalinity of around 7dkh, do you dose your tank to raise your alkalinity up to 9.4? If not, the lfs isn’t selling natural sea water.