Tap? RO/DI? Help

Mike Meriwether

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello reefers, I am relatively new to this hobby and have been using tap water mixed with salt and prime for my tank water. For one reason or another, I have lost a few fish. I know my water here in Fort Collins, CO is considerably clean, but with the issues I have been having, I am now considering switching to either reverse osmosis or distilled water. Can anyone give any insight on whether the switch is worth it for the price and what ya'll use?

Propane

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello reefers, I am relatively new to this hobby and have been using tap water mixed with salt and prime for my tank water. For one reason or another, I have lost a few fish. I know my water here in Fort Collins, CO is considerably clean, but with the issues I have been having, I am now considering switching to either reverse osmosis or distilled water. Can anyone give any insight on whether the switch is worth it for the price and what ya'll use?
Yes absolutely 100%. RODI.

Thumbster

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Devils advocate here.

I believe that you should be able to get a fairly detailed report on your water through your city. I would call the city water dept and see if it’s as clean as you think.

Plenty of people on this forum with ro/di who’ve had dead fish, dinos, cyano, hair algae etc.

TinyReefObsession

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I use distilled (6mos reefing lom) but I was given a 8yr established tank by someone reefing for 45years- all tanks on distilled water. Distilled also has 0 tds like RODI & VOHCs removed by carbon filtration :) I am planning to install a RODI once I have more space, for convenience.

EDIT: i also have a very small tank so don’t need much water now.. not the case for most :)

Last edited:

Netotek

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0