The Science Behind Why Fish Glow

SantaMonicaHelp

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello, my name is Cavan Smith, and I'm an intern for Santa Monica Filtration. Light has a huge influence on fish tanks, which gets me to think about light and fish simultaneously. I mainly research organic chemistry among other scientific fields, yet I still retain a strong curiosity in sub-classes of biology.

The process of bioluminescence hasn't been determined in every animal that- well... glows, but scientists have figured out numerous mechanisms that may be unique depending on the animal. In this post, I am going to be predominately talking about fish.

On an atomic basis, the general term for a light-emitting organic compounds is Luciferin. Think of Luciferin as more of a class of compounds; containing multiple different compounds that correlate with different types of fish. So now that we know that Luciferin is responsible for organic light-emission, how does it work? In the simplest terms, the compounds are oxidized (meaning they gain an electron) and react with the fish's corresponding enzymes to form a modified compound of a fish's Luciferin and energy in the form of light! Other ways include a bacteria containing a Luciferins being transferred from birth.

It has historically been hard for scientists to run test on Luciferins because they are typically reacted rapidly and on a small-scale. However, scientists have been able to isolate and recreate some of these compounds from certain fish. For example, scientists have isolated the luciferin named Vargulin from the Sea-Firefly (AKA Vargula hilgendorfii.) The Sea-Firefly cannot activate it's unique abilities unless it consumes a species that contains that exact same luciferin, Vargulin. This isn't the same for all fishes, but scientists are left baffled why the Sea-Firefly can secrete the enzyme needed for the reaction, but not the compound responsible for their glow.