Transitioning from NoPox to Vinegar Dosing

clm65

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've been dosing NoPox for about 2 months in an effort to bring down my nitrates and phosphates. About half of that time I’ve been dealing with a bacterial slime issue. I get long strands of slime clinging to my rocks, clogging my skimmer and drain and return lines, etc. And I have to scrape my glass daily, and that creates a ton of sheets of crap that float all over my tank. I’ve tried relocating my dosing point to the upstream side of my fuge (Randy’s recommendation), and I reduced my daily NoPox dosage, but the slime continues. Nitrates were coming down, but seem to have somewhat leveled off. I think that might be due to my dosage being less than the recommendation on the NoPox box. So I think I am going to try just dosing vinegar. My question is, do I need to start at the “day 1” dose from the vinegar dosing table? Or since I have been carbon dosing with NoPox, can I start with a higher dosage? I have about 200 gallons of total water volume in my system, and my nitrates are around 75 and my phosphates are 0.82. I am currently dosing about 15 ml NoPox per day.

Randy Holmes-Farley

Reef Chemist
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
No need to start especially slow. In general, I'm not even sure why starting from scratch needs to be that slow. :)

That said, acetate (as in vinegar) is a main ingredient in NOPOX, so switching from NOPOX to vinegar may not eliminate a visible slime issue since the same bacteria may keep growing.

OP
OP
C

clm65

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
No need to start especially slow. In general, I'm not even sure why starting from scratch needs to be that slow. :)

That said, acetate (as in vinegar) is a main ingredient in NOPOX, so switching from NOPOX to vinegar may not eliminate a visible slime issue since the same bacteria may keep growing.