True story: ive never dosed kalk! ?'s

becon776

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've been reefing since 2001 and NEVER dosed kalk. Always thought about just always been a bionic fanboy.
So in my new house and newish build I am struggling a bit with pH. It drops to 7.6 at times. I dont have a lot of usage from sps right now and do minimal 30ml per day 2 part (brs). Alk 8 CA 420 mg 1280. Those are always my targets. Running full apex complete with multiple DOS and trident.

I am wondering if using Kalk as opposed to 2 part would help with pH????
Also planning to make some stocking additions (SPS) so need will gradually rise in coming months.

I could easily just meter it using the Dos I have set up for AWC.

shwareefer

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've always dosed kalk and keep my alk at 10 and my ph will still drop to 7.8 with the house shut up. I recently ran a hose from outside to my skimmer and the effect was not as dramatic as I expected - maybe .1. Nothing seems to beat an open window for raising PH for me which is baffling since I ran the hose through the same window.

Randy Holmes-Farley

Reef Chemist
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Using hydroxide in any form will drive a higher pH than using carbonate (as in B-ionic).

You can use kalkwasser, or a DIY two part using sodium hydroxide.

Other ways to raise pH include fresher air tot eh room, outside air to a skimmer inlet, CO2 scrubber on skimmer inlet, and growing macroalgae.

Randy Holmes-Farley

Reef Chemist
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've always dosed kalk and keep my alk at 10 and my ph will still drop to 7.8 with the house shut up. I recently ran a hose from outside to my skimmer and the effect was not as dramatic as I expected - maybe .1. Nothing seems to beat an open window for raising PH for me which is baffling since I ran the hose through the same window.