Trying to diagnose lawnmower blenny (white dots on pectoral fins) + treatment plan

Fish_Fetisher

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Looking for some help since I'm new to marine fishes!

I've had my lawnmower blenny for 6 weeks and within the last week he has started flashing his side on the live rocks. I see some white dots on his pectoral fins, but nowhere else. Would this be ich or velvet? I am not quite sure.

I have a feeling I am going to have to treat in my QT tank using copper power, but I am a bit hesitant since the other fish is a sixline wrasse and I'm reading they can be sensitive to copper. She has no sign of spots however.

PB100124.JPG
1668126432688.png
PB100116.JPG PB100121.JPG

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
13   0   0
Looking for some help since I'm new to marine fishes!

I've had my lawnmower blenny for 6 weeks and within the last week he has started flashing his side on the live rocks. I see some white dots on his pectoral fins, but nowhere else. Would this be ich or velvet? I am not quite sure.

I have a feeling I am going to have to treat in my QT tank using copper power, but I am a bit hesitant since the other fish is a sixline wrasse and I'm reading they can be sensitive to copper. She has no sign of spots however.

PB100124.JPG
1668126432688.png
PB100116.JPG PB100121.JPG
This can or may be sand particles but can also be Lymphocystis which as on fish are light-colored nodules that are white to grey in color and are made up of infected cells that become enlarged as the virus grows on itself.
Lympho is often caused by poor water quality at place of purchase or high in ammonia and nitrate, poor quarantining and poor diet. These fish while they eat algae and not strict algae eaters but require meats and calcium in their diet.
This fin should have a round belly like it swallowed a golf ball and yours looks a little thin

MnFish1

10K Club member
View Badges