OP
Scdell

Scdell

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I don't care if anybody does it "my way" nor do I care if somebody listens to me... only trying to help. I am not selling anything, only offering what I have found works best. I have been reefing since 1992 and got into acropora in about 1994. 25 years with sticks is a long time. After trying all kinds of different stuff over the years, I have settled onto what not only works best for me, but what works best when people need help. These methods work for the locals and people on the national boards who are struggling. It is not even hard - lots of real live rock (this is getting harder unfortunately), lots of light from 350-850nm (you need a mercury-based source for this), flow, heavy import and heavy export of food with very low residual numbers near NSW, routine and reasonable water changes and a very stable way to add calcium, carbonate, magnesium, strontium, mlyob and all other traces (and Iron if you run chaeto). Simple, effective and also nearly the exact same thing that some of the first reefing books wrote about in the 1980s. This is also easy to duplicate, easy to recommend and easy to help people with.

I try and stay in these ranges. As it turns out, this dude is pretty smart... and what he recommends works well.
https://www.reef2reef.com/threads/o...-reef-aquarium-by-randy-holmes-farley.173563/