UNS 60s Budget Beginner Build

Prooda

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello everyone! I have a UNS 60s that I've been using for the past 5 years as a freshwater aquarium and recently found a small crack in the corner. I thought of resealing it and keeping it as a freshwater tank. However, I didn't like the look of the reseal so decided to turn it into an AIO aquarium instead. This will be a budget reef tank so that will be an added challenge as a new reefer!

Originally, I wanted to build the AIO with laser-cut acrylic but found that it would cost me close to $80 just to build the AIO portion. I decided to build it out of expanded PVC sheet from a leftover project instead. I have no prior knowledge of building AIOs so there was definitely some trial and error. Another challenge is I don't own any power tools but I do have a 3d printer to help me with this project. For the intake side, the comb was 3d printed and the bottom hole cover was also 3d printed. For the outflow, I used a 210 GPH Vivosun Pump with a Fluval flex nozzle set as my bulkhead. I also printed some shims to make the bulkhead watertight. I used e6000 to glue the sheets together and silicone it to the tank. I let it cure for a week before filling to check for leaks and water movement.

PXL_20231016_202658389.MP.jpg

At this point, the only equipment that I was missing was the light. I started working on this tank in early September and I knew that Prime Day was coming up so I decided to wait until then to purchase the light. Next up on the list was hardscape. At this point, I didn't know if I wanted dry rock, life rock, or live rock. My only requirement is that it had to be cheap. After a week of searching, I found someone who was selling dry rock for $1/lb and he had a tote full of them. He had a great selection of them and a lot of small pieces that were already broken up for gluing. I ended up with 15 lbs of dry rock.