Upgrading reef tank

Nemoose

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am fairly new to saltwater even though I have had African cichlids most of my life. I currently have a 30 gallon with plenty of live rock that has been set up for just about a year. 4 bulb t5 light, half 10K/half actinic, with 10 gallon sump and skimmer. I have a biocube power head and a large HOB filter I use mainly for flow or some mechanical filtration as needed. I have a cleanup crew of nassarius, cerith and hermits. I also have a small feather duster that has been doing well several months, The corals are all softies; green star polyps, finger leather and and new pulsing xenia. I had a dwarf lion for several months but my air conditioning went out of a 105 day and he just didnt take the heat well. A local club friend sold me a large bubble tip anemone, 6" across, with a mated pair of maroon clowns, female 4", male 2 1/2", and a Melanurua wrasse about 3 12". I know i am close to being overstocked and soon will be. I am considering moving the reef into a 55 that is now set up with africans. My question is this: if I move everything over, rock, substrate, etc, will the new tank need to cycle? I would like to tear down and reset in one day since I don't have anyplace else to keep stuff in the meantime.

gmoney243

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've done exactly that with no problems but be aware if you do some stuff might not make it. There's still a risk. Moving substrates could be a big problem tho and recomend new sand. Depending on your sand depth and condition you could stir up lot of junk.

Sent from my Vortex using Tapatalk 2

revsgirl

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to R2R!! Good luck on your move!! Would love to see some pics when you get it up and running!

Electrobes

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0