Using a Biocube protein skimmer in sump?

Discussion in 'General Equipment, Hardware, Filtration' started by thinktank, Jul 24, 2017.

  1. thinktank

    thinktank Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2017
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    61

  2. jrwoltman

    jrwoltman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2017
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    411
    Location:
    Plainfield, IL
    That is what I use in the back of my cube, if that is what you mean by sump. I upgraded the air pump and I am very happy with it.
    However, if you have a drilled cube with a true sump, then you should definitely get a larger, more powerful skimmer.
     
  3. thinktank

    thinktank Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2017
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    61

    Sorry, should have been more clear about the sump. The sump is under the tank. I'm thinking of using it on a tank that isn't a BioCube at all, but since they're only $30-$40 I thought it might work just as well in the below-tank sump.

    I'd probably be dumping it out pretty often, but thought it might be worth the $100+ in savings.
     
  4. jrwoltman

    jrwoltman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2017
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    411
    Location:
    Plainfield, IL
    Works great for me, because it fits behind the false wall of my cube. Yes, you would, that skimmer cup is so small, it needs to be emptied daily on my tank. But, if I were you, I would get the largest that fits in the sump. As far as skimmers go, bigger usually is better.
     
    tdileo likes this.
  5. RyanCSGO

    RyanCSGO Well-Known Member R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Reef Squad SCMAS Member Build Thread Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    Messages:
    1,209
    Likes Received:
    1,497
    Location:
    Orange, California
    verify water depth that is needed for whichever skimmer it is that your looking at. that might be the one thing that complicates it.
    if the depth in the sump will match that required, shouldn't be an issue. what size is the tank your trying to use it on?
     
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page

Loading...