UV sterilization of RODI water

jokerman826

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Recently I have been noticing on my local reefing FB page people complaining about bacterial slime in their RO containers. I have the same issue.

I was thinking about UV sterilization. Would recirculating RO water through a UV sterilize help prevent the bacteral slime growth? I am thinking it would since UV sterilizers can be used to kill parasites and algae in a tank.

What do the experts have to say about it?

coral49

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
sorry can't help, but cleaning my RO brute can this week I've had my 1st experience with the clear slime in RO. I am eager to hear solutions and is it a problem that can impact the tank. Looking to learn more on the whole issue

sbash

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm no UV expert, but I did install a UV system on my house a couple years back. Basically, yes, a UV system will destroy the dna of the life going through it. You would also want a real UV system, not just those filter/pumps with a UV light in it (they might help, but probably not as well as you want). The lamp should be enclosed and you would have to pump water through it.

However, a much cheaper way to go would be to not contaminate your reservoir. Now, that might be easier said than done, as the reservoir does need to have an air hole to allow the water to flow properly. I have been using the same reservoir (just a clear plastic bin with a lid) for 3 year and it does not have any sort of build up.

To help address the problem, have you checked the TDS coming out of your RO system?

How many stages in your RO system? (e.g. particle and charcoal before the membrane and DI after)

OP
OP
J

jokerman826

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0