Very low nutrients buy SPS progressively browning - Please help me trouble shoot

Punchanello

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have a 5x2x2 litre system bare-bottom with an ATI 4 x 80w Hybrid Powermodule lighting and 2 x Tunze 6105s. I'm running chaeto under a grow light and a skimmer and that's about it. System has een up over 12 months and is currently fallow (ich). Most of my sps, once settled are growing. Not sure it's considered fast growth but I'm new to this so happy with that. Here are my parameters -

7.7-8 ppm dKH
450 cal
1400 mg
Nitrates and phosphates undetectable or nearly undetectable with Salifert test kits

My problem is that most of my SPS (not all) seem to be getting browner. This started well before I went fallow 8 weeks ago but has continued since and possibly got worse. Even before I went fallow I had a low bio-load. My understanding of the theory is that it could be due to low light or high nutrients increasing the amount of zooxanthelae in the tissue causing the brown look. I don't think I have either of these issues. In fact, I'm struggling to keep any nitrates or phosphates despite heavy ghost feeding and I have a lot of light between the LED clusters and T5 happening.

Clearly my corals are stressed, but I can't figure it out. Happy to answer any questions if it can help me troubleshoot.

This was the tank about 6 weeks ago (have removed sand since).

flow.jpg

brett.sizeland

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
It could be from a lack of nutrients. I had something similar happen where I lost a lot of colour and even some colonies because I had a lot of nuisance algae outbreak in my frag tank that is linked to my main display and consumed all the available nutrients.

I would remove the chaeto as there is no real load at the moment with no fish. Continue feeding and try to get the N03 and P04 to start to register on the tests and see if you get any improvement.