Visparspectra: Are the green/red/white lights necessary for coral growth?

Uncle99

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
In my lighting, violet/blue is one channel, green/red/white is the other.
I understand the need for corals for the violet/blues spectrum, but what about this second channel, are these colors required as well.
I have been running 70% blue - 35% other for 3 years and six months ago I reduced the green/red/white down to 1% which created good intense colors in my corals.

So the question is simple.....Do corals ( or anything else in the DT) require green/red/white to thrive?

E9E14ADF-B463-4817-8289-73B7AD06A45E.jpeg

Ron Reefman

Lets Go Snorkeling!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Yes.

White and red are important. Not for photosynthesis, but for other chemistries within the coral. In fact even red can help with some photosynthesis.

2013-07-31 09.30.42.jpg

2013-11-13 11.00.42.jpg

SteveEreef

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I had that same question. I run a viparspectra over a small frag tank and had just blues on since December as the whites are just too bright for my taste. I have added the whites at 1% for three hours and plan to increase the time period over a couple of months. Do you think 8 hours whites is fine? Also what is the minimum photo period of whites that corals in general require. Thanks

14 foot reef

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Watch this series, i think there are 4 or 5 of them. Very informative

OP
OP
Uncle99

Uncle99

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Watch this series, i think there are 4 or 5 of them. Very informative
Perfect, thank you

Ron Reefman

Lets Go Snorkeling!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0