What are your best tips for someone wanting to build a business with coral

PinkSango

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
As the title asks, what are your best tips for someone wanting to build a business propagating coral? I'm new to the hobby and it's always been my dream to have my own coral farm. (Even possibly help researchers and scientists with building back our natural reefs in some way??)

Jbell370

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Lots of tanks, time and patience. Picking up coral orders can be a task, you absorb the death and any losses, don't always get what you asked for or ordered.

IMG_20220121_174822.jpg

IMG_20220121_174825.jpg

The joys of acclimation
IMG_20220121_175759.jpg

IMG_20220124_191701.jpg

The reward can be good.

Upvote 2

ForTheLoveOfCoral21

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I would personally take a frag of everything you ever order wholesale, and place it in a grow out tank. And don't touch it!

This will help you eventually have your own aquacultured section and maintain some stock without always buying. Yes, this will take a while, but worth it in the long run.

Upvote 1

Woodyman

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
As the title asks, what are your best tips for someone wanting to build a business propagating coral? I'm new to the hobby and it's always been my dream to have my own coral farm. (Even possibly help researchers and scientists with building back our natural reefs in some way??)

Don't take this the wrong way, I know you are new here, and I don't know any of your background with aquariums, fish, coral, etc. So I do truthfully mean this next bit in the nicest possible way, so please don't take it the wrong way.

I also don't know what your end goal here is, small scale hobby sales only or full business/farming operation.