What is growing out of my coral

BrettE

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi,

I'm a newb. I added my first few corals about 3 weeks ago. In my excitement, I totally forgot about dipping them. Lesson learned, I'll do better next time. I've noticed a few things growing out of one of them. Any idea what they are?

Thanks!
Brett

coral-7004.jpg coral-7005.jpg

ISpeakForTheSeas

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The one in the middle at least seems like it may be a Coral-boring Spionid Worm; the others I can't tell for sure beyond recognizing the algae growing there.

OP
OP
BrettE

BrettE

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Are both of those the coral boring spionid worms, or just the thing with the one with two smaller things sticking out at the top?

OP
OP
BrettE

BrettE

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You know what, this coral is tiny, and was free. Perhaps the easiest thing to do is just get rid of it. It's not really even that cool looking.

ISpeakForTheSeas

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Are both of those the coral boring spionid worms, or just the thing with the one with two smaller things sticking out at the top?
I can't say for sure, as the tall one looks similar to the smaller one with the worm's palps (the two tentacles on the worm's head) sticking out, but it's really tall for a regular spionid tube.
You know what, this coral is tiny, and was free. Perhaps the easiest thing to do is just get rid of it. It's not really even that cool looking.
If they're just on the one side of the frag, you may be able to just frag them off.

OP
OP
BrettE

BrettE

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I pulled the coral out to have a closer look, and I found these fellows. These looked unfriendly, so I culled the coral.

Are these vermetid snails? What do I about these (whatever they are)?

vermetid-7032.jpg vermetid-7035.jpg vermetid-7034.jpg