What type of lighting do i need?

b.morrison2010

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi im new at all this my lighting fixture burnt up 2 days ago i have a 30 gallon tank with 2 clowns some mushrooms,zoos,and kenya tree,3 serpent starfish i havent been able to add anything else in a while how do i know what type of lightin to get?

KingRicky

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
With the coral that you listed, I would say go with a T-5 fixture. I ran T-5's on my old tank before I started keeping SPS. I had a 10,000K and a Tru Actinic.

Raggamuffin

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
with those even a CF would be ok, nothing in there requires much light at all. As always get the best you can afford though so you don't have to upgrade later!

46gReef

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
What typw of corals you intend to keep not only now but down the road will have an impact on your lighting decision....I would agree T5's are the way to go but there are many choices as far as how many bulbs in the fixture so if you plan on keeping more light demandng corals down the road you may want to go with more bulbs.......HTH......

Xcali1985

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Go with LEDs do a DIY and you can actually save money. For the price of a T5 structure you can build your own High End LED fixture. All it takes is basic soldering knowledge. There are plenty of DIY videos on youtube that walk you through it. You use 1/2 the energy of LEDs and you have the ability to arrange the LEDs in what ever order you want. Some do 2 blues for every white. Which is good for clams and sps. This setup allows you to keep everything now and in the future. I had a T5 structure on my 80 Gallon. Built a 24" LED with 48LEDs and the color difference was immediately noticeable.

mizzoumed02

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0