What type of polyp is this?

GoVols

Cobb / Webb - 1989
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Also I see your edit and Sanjay would never tell people to throw them out he would do as @Crabs McJones suggested and gift them or sell them.

If it's the kind of plays Sanjay had, he would not pass them along.

He has always said to try to toss those kind out, but it's hard once those kind spread in an established reef.

Joshua M Hall

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If it's the kind of plays Sanjay had, he would not pass them along.

He has always said to try to toss those kind out, but it's hard once those kind spread in an established reef.

I have been reefing since 2010 and this is the first time I have ever seen such talk of Palys/Zoas. GoVols can you explain to me how this happens? Is it if the Palys/Zoas start to die they become a problem for other corals? So basically if they are healthy they will not hurt anything else?

GoVols

Cobb / Webb - 1989
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have been reefing since 2010 and this is the first time I have ever seen such talk of Palys/Zoas. GoVols can you explain to me how this happens? Is it if the Palys/Zoas start to die they become a problem for other corals? So basically if they are healthy they will not hurt anything else?

If certain types of plays feel threatened they can go into defense mode and release their toxins.

I have personally seen the Aquatic Critters bio-pellet reactor get off on one there most prized displays, which made that one kind of species go off and in under 24 hours that tank was a total loss.

They knew that species could be lethal, but it had spread so much, it would have been a total rebuild to get that species out.

Have also seen tiny micro bubbles agitate them to the point were the same thing happened too.

That is the two times that I've seen it, but I'm sure not expert in pick out play species.