When am I ready for Coral?

Hoxie

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've been getting mixed reviews from my LFS, the internet, R2R, etc. as to when I should be good to attempt coral. I'm new to coral but have mild experience in the saltwater world. Tank has been cycled and has 2 fish in there with live rock. I have had a little battle with not being content on the setup pre-coral and have moved around the setup several times causing ammonia spikes. (over feeding and no cleaning crew I believe)

I'm getting my cleaning crew today, and always get tempted to scoop up more when at the LFS. But I want to do this right and not sacrifice any coral lives because of ignorance.

Please guide me almighty reef masters!!!

Thank you!!!!

DrkNMighty

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You are 100% going to get mixed responses to this question. Some will say it’s fine right away others will say wait months. I personally would wait if I was only at one month. You really are wanting your tank parameters to stabilize and to get through some of the first ugly stages.

OP
OP
Hoxie

Hoxie

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You are 100% going to get mixed responses to this question. Some will say it’s fine right away others will say wait months. I personally would wait if I was only at one month. You really are wanting your tank parameters to stabilize and to get through some of the first ugly stages.
Thank you for your input! Much appreciated!

ryanjohn1

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
That’s kinda where I was going with that. You really sorta wait stability in your tank first. Month maybe two. With fish and clean up crew they slowly add coral. Don’t be disheartened when you loose a coral or 2. Everyone looses coral at times

Lavey29

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0