324g Classroom Tank

tangboy

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Over the summer a friend of mine upgraded his 324g DT to an 800g DT and decided to donate his 324g to my school. I'm a principal and teacher of our small private school in Knoxville and love to have critters in my class besides the students!

So after a fun afternoon of moving the giant tank with just 5 of us, we had a slight accident and dropped the 180g sump/fuge.

It took me a little while to find a 55 I could turn into a temporary sump/fuge until I can find a large tank to turn into my sump/fuge.

I'm using donations and personal funds to make this reef happen so as not to put a financial drain on my school. I never want to be accused of taking advantage for personal hobbies!

So here are a few pictures showing what I have up and running so far.

ase4y3y6.jpg

Full shot. The bulletin board is 12 feet across and the tank is 4. I left enough room on each side to post information about the fish and corals for the kids to learn about and research.

uzepuza6.jpg

Left side of the rock work. I wanted minimal rock for maximum fish swimming and coral grow out.

ypudy2as.jpg

Right side rock work. I tried to make it look interesting and not just a pile of rocks... Love the top right piece, One of my students said it looked like a dinosaur skull.

3usequva.jpg

The temporary sump/fuge. Notice my left baffle slid loose...

6a2umave.jpg

The skimmer I'm having some issues with... Notice the layer of skimate on top of the cone not in the cup...

Reasons for the tank :
I love the hobby
I want to share the hobby
Help kids plug into something other than their I pods ;-)
Show personal appreciation for the creativity and beauty God has it there.