High Nitrates - Bane of my existence

Jedi1199

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Maybe I’ll try waste away for a little longer. Maybe 3 weeks just wasn’t enough or possibly didn’t dose enough since my water never got cloudy.

You hit the nail on the head here. 3 weeks is not enough time to tell if anything is making a realistic change to your system. Patience is key in reefing. It may take months to achieve the results you are hoping for.

I have no experience with any of the products you are using so I will refrain from any advice about that other than just be patient.

biom

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The 50 dead sps frags, lol.
I doubt 40-50 ppm NO3 would kill 50 SPS frags, the reason is somewhere else, it could be pathogen or not sufficient light. Did you try to put some SPS frags in this Clams refugium with higher PAR?
I see you are using Ozone reactor - it could lower the effect of bacteria dosing and nopox.

Nano_Man

Anemone L
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Was told water changes wouldnt help much as nitrate binds to rock and sand.
Phosphate binds to sand and rock and when you lower it the next couple of days creeps back up due to leaching out of the Rockand sand . I found water changes did next to nothing with phosphate. Anyway we are talking nitrate regular water changes should help lower it if for some reason it doesn’t then start thinking of methods of dosing or nitrate removal resins ect . Randy is the Man never let me down with his advice. Good luck

Dan_P

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Any alternatives to lowering Nitrates than what I have already tried? I am kind of stuck and not sure how to proceed.

Things Attempted:
Refugium - Cheato is growing, nothing to crazy exciting, not pulling out a ball a week, but its growing.
BioPellets - Been running for little over 2 months with zero reduction in nitrates