My experiences treating rapid tissue necrosis in multiple SPS species with doxycycline and amoxicillin

SecondCityCorals

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello all,

I'm sure a lot of you who keep SPS have heard about the study and claims that rapid/sudden tissue necrosis (RTN/STN) is being caused (or at least assisted by) vibrio harveyi. If you haven't I suggest giving it a look as it has some pretty interesting information and could potentially change how we treat our stony friends. You can check out here. Curious by this study as someone who's had to deal with RTN on occasion. I wanted to see if I could find an antibiotic that could be used to help fight this problem. And to see if the study had any merit. I've been in the reefing hobby since 2004, but my keeping of SPS corals only started about 3 years ago. So I'm rather new to SPS compared to some of you.

I keep a Waterbox 100.3 stocked with 30 or so SPS frags, some of which are now mini colonies. I have reached a stage where I feel I can maintain a stable tank for SPS as well as share my results with the rest of you and feel confident in what I'm seeing. Over the last 6 months I've been selectively using three dips to treat corals who have tissue necrosis. My first experiments were with a product called "Fish Moxy" which does not seem to be sold anymore. However it seems to be generic amoxicillin. It even comes in gelcaps like you used to get from the doctor for a sinus infection. Unfortunately I do not recall the dosage amount per pill. But my dip consisted of separating the gel cap of a single capsule and mixing it in a small container of water for 30 seconds or so. Nothing fancy.

It looks like this:
B6765A67-F337-45BC-9C15-FA41A28E133D.jpeg