Need Help - Fish In Cycle (Next steps and guide)

new_to_reef

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello All,

I am very new to this hobby and need help in figuring out how to maintain and take care.

I have a 17.5 GAL UN Systems aquarium (All in One - Nano Tank), which came with a Sponge and Return Pump. At the aquarium store, I was told about adding nitrifying bacteria on day 1 and can add fish with-in 2 days. I have not done enough research on cycling and blindly followed. After reading a lot of threads, doing a fish in Cycle is bad, now I'm feeling paranoid.

April 8th (Day - 1) - Added Live Sand, Live Rock, Carbon filter, Bio Filter media. Added water and left for a day.
April 9th (Day - 2) - Added Heater (Set to 77F), Light (Turning on for 8 hours) and added Dr. Tim's Nitryifying Bacteria bottle (60 ML).
April 10th (Day - 3) - Added a pair of clown fish.

Question 1 - When adding Nitrifying bacteria I had the Sponge Filter, Bio Max Filter Media and Carbon Filter. Is this okay ? Or did I do wrong and need to re-add the Nitrifying bacteria ?

I have been feeding pellets as food. I feed 3 - 4 pellets to each fish, twice a day. If the fish doesn't eat the pellets and it drops to ground, i Syphon with a pipette for every 3-4 days.

I do checks for Ph and Ammonia for every 3 days. Ph is b/w 7.5 - 8 and Ammonia seems to be always at "less than 0.05 ~ 0.05" as per Salifret testing kit as of Apr 17th. Even the seachem in-water badge says "Safe". I have purchased seachem prime, just in case to use, if ammonia increases. But doesn't seem to increase at all (Which i feel very good for now)

Fish seem to be happy and always feel excited when I add food. Love them. They don't explore the rocks and sand and scared to pick up food which falls there. One sticks near the return pump and other sticks on the other end. The one which is at the Return pump, seems to be the dominant one of the two.