New 120 build, first time sump user

Prairiereefer

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello everyone,

I'm new to R2R from Canada and looking for some advice. Went searching through the forums and found so many different ways to do things that I can't seem to understand all of it.

To give some background, I started in reading just over a year ago converting my 125 6' long freshwater to a saltwater tank. I've learned lots over this last year and changed my setup to make the best possible tank with the aquarium I already had without driving, just running a fx6, hob refugium and skimmer, and black box leds, a gyre, and inline 35w UV sterilizer.

My current plan is to do an entire new build with new stand, sump, skimmer, etc. since we plan on buying a new house this summer. My thought is it would be easier to move my tank inhabitants into an already setup tank with all new water but using the already established rock and filter media, then to disassemble my current one and set it back up in the new house. The new tank I want to have a sump with built in fuge. I have found a 4' 120 gallon on buy and sell that I plan to buy and reseal, I resealed my current tank and have had no issues so no worries there. My main question is how to plumb the new tank to a sump as the tank I'm buying is solely just the tank. I'll attach pictures but from what I've seen from the seller, the tank only has 2 holes in the bottom glass for drainage and return. I've decided I want to use both holes as a main drain and emergency drain as a fail safe. I plan to drill 2 returns on the same side of the tank as the drain (you'll see why in the pics) and would like them to be bottom drilled as well if possible. Also how would you plumb the inline uv onto the tank?

Thanks for the advice and reading this far in this super long post. I've also attached a photo of my current tank just for reference.
Screenshot_20201213-174239_Kijiji.jpg