Questions about 3 corals

BrettE

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all,

I didn't want to make 3 separate posts about each coral, so I just piled everyone in here.

I'm a newb, and my tank is about 4 months old. Most of the corals in my tank seem to be doing well. It's a 150 gallon tank with 8 small-ish frags, and one medium small (I guess?) torch. Everyone seems to be doing mostly ok. Fish seems happy, and I think my torch has grown some. I have Ca and Alk on dosing pumps, so they're relatively stable. The Alk has been creeping up over the last few weeks, so I just dialed back the Alk dosing today. I had some 0.0 nitrate time periods over the last few weeks, but I dosed some Neonitro and added a fox face, and now my nitrates have come back up. I had a bunch of what I think was green cyanobacteria, and most of that has receded.

I started feeding everyone reef rods a couple weeks ago, and most everyone has been doing well in response to that. I think my blasto has been growing, and maybe the acan has too, and I think the torch is liking it too.

First up: this sad candy cane. I didn't realize how bad it really was until I was gathering photos for this post. He's lost a a lot of tissue. What's up with this? The before photo is from about a month ago. The after is from today.

last month:
candy-before-6998.jpg
today:
coral-stacks--2.jpg

Next up is a Jackolantern Leptoseris. My only concern with it is that parts of it are not fluorescing as well as they did a few weeks ago. There are some spots that just look a little dull. Does he look ok? I tried to put him in a lower light section of my tank with maybe a little less flow.
coral-stacks-.jpg

Are these some kind of parasite coming out of it?
lepto-7638.jpg lepto-7663.jpg

Lastly, is an Acan. He's not quite as fluffy as he was about a month ago. What's that red thing on the plug? Is that a vermetid snail? Do I need to kill whatever it is?

coral-stacks--3.jpg

Other inhabitants:
  • 2 clowns