Two tanks, One room

YHSublime

Reefopotamus
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So I recently joined R2R, and figured along with my local club, I would start a build here as well. I currently have a 57 Rimless Deep Blue, and a recently started to cycle a 150 gallon. I have aquascaped, plumbed, and filled it with water. My cycle has started, and I plan on trying to follow Tony Vargas method of cycling (90 days before adding anything.) You would think that it was easy, seeing as I already have a tank setup, however, every (impatient) ounce of me wants to load it with fish and corals immediately.

My 57 is a mixed reef of SPS and LPS. I also have 3 anemones. 1 GLTA, and 2RBTA's. I have frequently considered keeping an aquarium just for nems, they facinate me. I have manually cloned 6 of my RBTA's, and they have both split naturally once. I'm still learning to take photos under the LEDS, but it won't stop me, and I like to frequently update as things happen, it's a way for me to share my trials and tribulations, as well as my sucesses. What I really enjoy though, is looking back, and seeing how far I've come, and how much has changed.

My equipment is fairly simple. I run an Evergrow IT2080 with the standard layout. It's just enough spread for my 36" long tank, and I have seen great growth with all my corals, hard and soft. I have an MP40 for flow, an eshopps 20 gallon sump, with an Avast CS1 Recirc skimmer. I am running a regular Avast CS1 on my 150, with a 45 gallon ADHI sump. The sump is plumbed to the side as my stand is very low, and the lady says the stand had to stay. I said yes ma'am. I have another MP40 , and another IT2080. I have an Apex Jr, with an 8 bar attachment, as well as an Avast Skimmate locker that still both need to be hooked up.

My fish are: 4 Blue Chromis, 2 mated regular clown perculas, and 1 hippo tang. In my 150 I plan on:

Chevron Tang (Tenochaetus Hawaiiensis)
Achillies Tang (Acanthurus Achillies)
Blond Naso Tang (Naso Elegans)