10 year old biocube

PrincessGumdrop

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi! I tried doing a sw tank like 10 years ago just some clown fish nothing crazy. I managed to keep everything alive decided that I didn't have as much time for it as I thought. I wanna jump back in! Now I'm older and wiser and interwebs. So basically I wanted to see if I can get this old guy up and running and then possibly doing something bigger. I took some pix of it while cleaning it up and checking to see if everything still works. It does. I'm basically new to all this again and not sure what anything that I pulled out of the tank is and if I need it or if I should replace it with something else (I've read to trash the bioballs) or just get new of what I already have or scrap this tank and get a new one all together. Halp! I'm a little worried with its age it's going to burn my house down lol jk but kind of serious. Also if anyone wants to adopt me as their 'aquarium kid' I'm totally down for direction, advise, help, and anyone to answer my questions
:)

3c2031b7ae48c7c9767b0f734c1f0fcc.jpg
a9e5c557bb7211e29fbcccc5f736acad.jpg
7de6a57eaf6cbab50f8531ab902e7549.jpg

Ghxst

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
As long as the seals hold use it for your quarantine while you build your new tank.

Ghxst

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Honestly, It would be best to reseal in the long run. Do the seals look smooth and intact or dry, cracked, not even? Same for the pump, heater and anything else like the hood fans, make sure they work and are not damaged. New bulbs would be good once you got coral in there or if your worried about it failing keep the hood off and light to mount.

If anything looks bad I would drain it. If they look good just remember it's riskier and they could fail, be prepared. Like the pump, I would probably just get a new one and use the old one for water changes.