110G - My First Fish Tank

LucasRe

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi All!

This is my first build thread, and my first fish tank (fresh or salt water). It's been running for about 3 months now so I figured I'd use this first post to document the beginnings of my tank :)

Here is the original tank - a 55G fresh water tank with no plumbing or sump, the plan was to just run hang off equipment and to just house a small number of fish and easy to keep coral.

First.jpg

First additions to the tank! In hindsight the 55G tank was a bad idea but at the time were just so excited about how cute these little guys are.

second.jpg

It didn't take long before our aspirations for reef keeping changed and we bit the bullet and purchased a larger, 110G tank that was plumbed into a sump (Please ignore the half painted wall (yes I realize the tank will need to be moved to finish the job - thankfully the landlords don't plan on painting for a few more months).

third.jpg

Tank transfer! We purchased some more rock and with the help of a few friends, transferred the rock, sand, and inhabitants to their bigger and better home.

fourth.jpg

Once the tank had a few weeks to settle we added some new friends to the party, a blue tang and yellow dwarf angel (a mistake who was eventually given to a friend with a fish only tank :( ) We also went about adding lighting and some coral to the tank, starting the lights resulted in a huge algae bloom and some very cloudy water. At this stage we also introduced some clean up crew and a cute blue spotted blenny to the tank.

sixth.jpg

After the cloudiness didn't go away on its own we installed some carbon media and a VERY oversized skimmer (supplier shipped us the wrong one - decided to keep it). This, combined with a 5 micron filter sock pinched from work cleared the tank up in about 5 minutes.

seventh.jpg