1760G Tank, what Skimmer?

8ne4t

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi friends, the biggest and also reputable skimmer brands I've come across online are recommended for up to 260 gallon tanks, i'm new to this and i don't have my tank setup until I have all the right hardware sourced, do I just go with a small skimmer or do I put several skimmers into my sump haha? Cheers

nuxx

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Somebody in town had a similar sized tank, he ended up going with a MRC IS-2492-W.

It would be interesting to run multiple 500-600 gallon rated skimmers if you could get the water height correct.

OP
OP

8ne4t

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thanks for the references, I've decided to go without the use of a skimmer but will of course buy one and have it ready for use if circumstances warrant the need for one, the goal is a self contained tank with the use of a 1000 gallon sump as the first 400-500 gallons will be a cryptic zone with 500 pounds of LR inside of homemade baskets using pvc piping and egg crates, seeded with cryptic sponges, sea squirts, NPS corals, fan worms on a 4" substrate consisting of live Aragonite Oolite (very fine stuff) sand and mud at a 75:25 ratio, the substrate will be packed with bristle worms and mini-brittle stars with an army of pods.

The cryptic section connects up to the next biome which will have the exact same substrate and full of red mangroves that will be deliberately aerial propagated to achieve that lovely complex root system, estimating 15 to 20 mangroves i'm not sure, i'll get as much as i can in there without it being overstocked, i'm also planting "star grass - halophila engelmannii" in between the mangroves, i'll allocate 200 or 300 gallons to this biome

The next biome outside of the mangroves will be packed with a plethora of green macroalgae and a select few red algae, peppermint shrimps, emeralds, nassarius and cerith snails