20G Newbie Nano Tank Build

Zack631

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello Everybody!

I have wanted to build a reef tank for years. I’ve been on and off with freshwater for years. So after doing my research I finally decided to pull the trigger and bought a Red Sea 20G AIO (new in box from someone on the forum). I would love to have a soft/lps dominant tank with a couple fish and cuc members. I am brand new to reefing so any tips or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Tank: Red Sea Max Nano 20G AIO

Filtration: Running stock equipment. Currently just using the filter sock while tank cycles. Stock skimmer is setup and in tank but not running (not sure if it is ok to leave in there while not using).

Flow: Stock return pump. Possibly looking to add a small wave pump in the near future.

Light: Red Sea ReefLED 50

Heating: Aqua El 75 Watt set to 78 (I think I will upgrade to the 100 Watt as current temp sitting around 76.5-77. Was just nervous the 100 would not fit in the back of the tank)

Water/Salt: 4 Stage RODI with Red Sea Coral Pro Salt

Sand: 20lbs of CaribSea Arag-Alive Special Grade (unsure if this was too much sand)

Rock: Roughly 10lbs of CaribSea LifeRock

I just started cycling yesterday. I used the Fritz FishlessFuel followed by a healthy dose of Turbo Start 900. Salinity is sitting at 1.025 and as mentioned above temp is around 76.5-77. Alkalinity is sitting at 8.0. I plan on doing 10% water changes weekly.

I am not sure what fish, corals, and cuc I will be adding as my mind changes everyday. I know for a fact some Euphyllia, wrasse, goby/shrimp pair. Suggestions are definitely appreciated in this area. I like the aquascape design but unsure if it will translate to a good reef setup.

Really excited to start this journey and look forward to everyone’s feedback!

IMG_1594.jpeg

Naekuh

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I dont think you can do a wrasse in that tank without it flipping out and going postal.