30g Long Newb Build

Charlie the Reefer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Intro / Background
Hello everyone... First thread (besides my intro thread). I'm doing a 30g long tank. I'm fairly new to the hobby (did it 10+ years ago as a kid) so this will be a learning tank. Going to be brutally honest about my failures in an attempt to do some learning, and maybe even help some other newbs out. I'd appreciate any tips along the way from the pros.

Goal
My goal with the tank is to learn as much as I can about successfully keeping Euphyllia (appreciate ANY book recs or big reads). Should I probably be starting with softies? Yeah... But it just doesn't interest me as much unfortunately. As mentioned, I had an old tank and we kept all sorts of softies (easy), but we always failed with Euphyllia so I want to have success with it. My other main goal is to have a Diamondback Goby (I just love those guys, and so does the girlfriend). I am debating starting with Duncan or candy cane, too. But I may just go cheap branching hammers first. Disclaimer... This is not going to be a pimped out banging tank of the month. I know this is challenging to get into, my goal is to learn as much as I can.

Equipment
So I started buying stuff as I was learning. Therefore a lot of this is dumb/un-ideal... >_<

Tank: 36" x 12" x 16" ~30g
Sump: Crystal Sump 36: 36" x 14" x 15"
Filter: Sock
RODI system: BRS 75GPD 4 stage (not used until after initial DT fill-up)
Salt: Coral Pro Salt Mix 55 Gallon - RedSea (not used until after initial DT fill-up)
Powerhead: hygger Mini wave maker 1600 GPH
Heater: hygger 200w ------> Replaced with 2x 150w Aquael + HC-810M Digital Heater Controller - Finnex (explained in captain's log)
Return Pump: Orlushy 1056 GPH
Protein Skimmer: ESHOPPS Nano (not set up yet)
Plumbing: Simple braided vinyl tubing going straight into the sump/back
HOB Overflow (didn't drill): Lifereef (shout out to Jeff.. his reputation precedes him)