400 Gal SPS Dominant + 265 Gal Mix Reef in a 1000 Gallon system.

Breakbeats2334

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
As the title suggest, I intend to share the journey of two tanks. A 400 Gallon and a 265 Gallon both starting from their infancy stages to modern day. My name is Omari and I've been keeping salt water aquariums since 2009 but I've been surrounded by them for over 20 years. Here's a FTS of the tank I grew up with which inspired me to get into salt water aquariums, photo taken around 1998.
OldFishtank (1).JPG

This was my fathers aquarium where I started to learn some of the basics of salt water keeping and before I knew it I was hooked. Looking for knowledge about reefing became an obsession and with that came reading. Prior to the internet this was my main source of knowledge.

Coral Reef Books.jpg

Fast forward a few years, I upgraded from a 40-G to a 120-G to a 220-G where the addiction to SPS took off. This is where I learned the bulk of my reef husbandry skills and where my father and I decided to take on the project of not only upgrading both of our tanks but also combining them into one system. Here's a 2015, photo of the 220-G prior to its tear down after a glorious 5 year run.
220 SPS Tank.JPG

ca1ore

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
It's a great shame that the Internet has mostly killed off the physical publishing business. Writing a book requires knowledge and commitment; typing bad advice into a forum or video onto YouTube requires neither.

OP
OP
Breakbeats2334

Breakbeats2334

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Wow, beautiful 220. Can’t wait to see the big one up and running.
Great and inspiring tank shots there!
Thanks more to come real soon!