5.5 Pico Saltwater Tank: MacroAlgae only what can go in?

GirlWithFish

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey all! I have a 5.5 gallon rimless. I have a lot of experience with freshwater but this would be my first saltwater tank. I was going to have this tank be a dirted Walstad tank (freshwater method) but now I’m interested in turning it into a macroalgae tank. It will have live rock as well for the hardscape. My questions are-
What type of filter should I get?

What animals can go in here- any fish are just inverts? And what types?

Are there any types of macroalgae that are hard to grow- do colors matter for growth like in freshwater? For example, certain red stem plants are harder to have flourish in FW than green stem plants. Does this hold true for MacroAlgae ?

Is this doable or is it just a bad idea for my first saltwater tank?

If you don’t think it’s a good idea I’ll just make it a dirted freshwater shrimp tank, just curious for my options

SPR1968

No, it wasn’t expensive dear....
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I can’t help with the question, but I can bump the thread to see if we can get you some assistance

1epauletteshark

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey all! I have a 5.5 gallon rimless. I have a lot of experience with freshwater but this would be my first saltwater tank. I was going to have this tank be a dirted Walstad tank (freshwater method) but now I’m interested in turning it into a macroalgae tank. It will have live rock as well for the hardscape. My questions are-

Are there any types of macroalgae that are hard to grow- do colors matter for growth like in freshwater? For example, certain red stem plants are harder to have flourish in FW than green stem plants. Does this hold true for MacroAlgae ?

If you don’t think it’s a good idea I’ll just make it a dirted freshwater shrimp tank, just curious for my options