70 gallon tank stocking list for a new person

billy123

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi,

I am brand new to reefing.
I have a 70 gallon tank that is cycling. My plan is to make it a reef tank.
I wanted to see if the below stocking idea would work or if there are any other fish you recommend I look at. Also if there is a order I should add them besides clown fish first. Is this to many fish or can I add more?
Thanks for any advice

2 clown fish
1 foxface
1 flame angle
1 watchman golby
1 Hippo Tang
1 royal Gamma
2 cardinal Fish
1 wrasse (not sure type)
Purple fire fish

clean up crew

Widdlyscudds

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Ditch the clownfish, once they they get settled in they are the biggest jerks on the planet, or if you really want a pair add them last. Mine try to murder anything and everything that goes in the tank these days and adding new fish is a giant hassle as a result

dedragon

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Also dwarf angelfish can be coral nippers in reef tanks but they are hit or miss.
Clownfish as well can be a--holes, sometimes and sometimes not. My last couple of pairs have been super friendly but they can get territorial in smaller tanks. Percula, ocellaris, and skunk clownfish are the least aggressive, while maroon clownfish and tomato are some of the most aggressive

bnord

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Nice balance for a 70. May want to consider a tomini or related tang in place of the blue due to size (and utility)

Start with a SMALL fox face

In regards to the clownfish comments, personal experience is (as dedragon suggests) tomatoes and cinnamon clowns
tempImage6bTLmi.png
should be avoided, but I find a young pair of of ocellaris are fine They are in each of my 3 tanks, (and in most of my friends) and in a tank this size should find their territory and not be a burden

davidcalgary29

2500 Club Member
View Badges