8gal AIO Nano Macroalgae & Clown Build

charliedarling

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey guys.

Excited to share my first saltwater build, my 8gal AIO clown tank. I scored the complete setup for $100 on marketplace and am so excited to build the tank of my dreams.

My background is in high-tech freshwater planted aquariums, so while I’m not a beginner aquarist by any means, I’m new to marine tanks. I‘m excited to take on the challenge of a micro algae dominant tank. I plan to get some soft corals and maybe even LPS in there, maybe. The main goal right now is get the tank stable and make adjustments as I go along.

Today is a big day! I ordered an array of supplies and they arrive later today. The tank is of an unknown age (got it from an office that was just trying to get rid of it), but it appears to be cycled and is not reading any ammonia. Based on the fact that the clowns are paired, there is excess detritus, and bare rock is covered in what appears to maybe be diatoms, the tank probably isn’t brand new. I would assume it has been up a few months, if not more. I named the clowns “Pinky & The Brain.” (Though I’m aware the larger clown is female xD)

My goal right now is to get parameters stable, and dial everything in. Right now I’ve just had the tank running without any light for three weeks. The clowns are seemingly happy. I did a large water change and manual removal of a ton of detritus the first week, then yesterday did a 10% water change. Using reef crystals (not really sure if I like them, might switch brands but I figure I should get the tank dialed in before switching).

Here’s the plan:

• Re-organize power strips, cords and use label maker for labeling each cord.
  • Set up maintenance schedule on phone app Aquaramate
  • Dose galaxy pods and leave pump and light off for rest of the day
  • Switch out old pump for new nano pump (110gph)
  • Set up nano Kessil A80
  • Set up Fluval plant light 3.0