After chemiclean Dino or more cyano

JsLevine

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I had what appeared to be cyano on my sand bed and after a few months of undetectable, nitrates and siphoning out cyano every week I decided to try Chemi clean. It appeared to work very well and then two days later an outbreak of what I think are Dinos appeared.

I did a nitrate test and went from 0 nitrate to 23 ppm over night I would assume this is the die off of the cyano and me not exporting it when it died off. I turned my schedule up on my refugium and now see nitrates at 17.5.

My question is did I beat the cyano and now I have something else or did I just let the cyano bounce back because I did not get rid of the nutrients left behind.

The tank is 6 months old it was put together from a small tank that made it to 4 months before I decided I wanted to go slightly bigger and basically restarted the ugly stage. In other words this is my first year of reefing

I have a refugium that is doing well and a slightly oversized skimmer and a 25w uv sterilizer on a redsea 170

Current parameters
Nitrates 17.5
Phosphates 0.01
Alk 8.5
Calc 425
Mag 1400

2FF4F6FF-E773-4E79-8C99-00C1B7A96BF0.jpeg 58EEB2BC-0EF0-4B26-A30A-6C0D0E9B138E.jpeg

Troylee

all about the diy!!!!!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Can’t say without a microscope but it seems to be the normal trend any more… Dino’s after using chemiclean… it’s wiping the good and bad bacteria out then comes new problems.

exnisstech

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
well fair enough I would assume don’t use it again and probably just keep up with cleaning and dosing beneficial bacteria
I'm chasing my tail on one tank now after using flux for gha and chemiclean for cyano. Its been going on for about a year. Its a smaller tank and the only reason I haven't just started it over is because despite all the ups and downs my frags are really talking off.

OP
OP
JsLevine

JsLevine