AI Blade Mount

Black Dog Reefing

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all!

I recently purchased a set of 12” AI Blade Grows to pair with my 2 AI primes on my frag tank to combat shadowing. I had been looking around for a good mounting solution to use them along side the primes, but couldn’t find one. In my efforts, I noticed I wasn’t the only one struggling to get these lights mounted. I ended up going the DIY route and wanted to share what I did incase anyone else is looking for some inspiration!

I am a welder by trade so this was a relatively easy project for me to get done. I understand not everyone has access to a welder (I personally recommend picking up a cheap one and learning just enough to use it because they’ll absolutely pay for themselves just doing minor things around the house!)

I took 1” square tubing to make the mount itself and 1/8” flat bar as the brackets that hold the lights (all mild steel). I TIG welded everything together just because I’ve got one and it’s a bit stronger, but the same idea can be done with a >$500 MIG welder.

Here’s a few pictures and please let me know if there are any questions! I’d also be open to discussing making custom mounts if anyone has any unusual tank dimensions, lights, or interesting ideas they’re looking to try!

P.S. don’t mind the tank itself, I threw a couple frags in there just for testing purposes and two bags of biological media just to weigh down the rack until I move in more frags.

IMG_1668.jpeg IMG_1669.jpeg IMG_1667.jpeg IMG_1670.jpeg

Last edited:

CasperOe

In it to win it!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Looks good! There's a whole lot of lights on that tank now :D

Shadowing-or low PAR will not be an issue for you going forward ;)

thatmanMIKEson

Reefing ain't easy$
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all!