Alk and phosphate madness.

endlessrealm

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
My tank is 4 months old. I have 2 duncans, 1 leather, 2 candy canes, 2 gsp, 4 zoas, 1 frogspawn, and 1 hammer. And i just gor 2 rock anemones. All doing fantastic. Its just lately my alk goes from 7.5 to 7.1 in a couple of days. Is that normal? Im new to this.

My mag is is 1350, and calcium 400. Is that being used being my corals? I dosed 4 days ago and ir dropped today to 7.1 from 7.4 is that a normal drop? And my phosphate was 0.05, now im at 0.02. I dosed reef roids, and neophos... alk i understand why phosphate though?

MERKEY

Cronies
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Yup very normal
P04 and n03 will drop as nutrients are exported through skimming or water changes.... corals need it as well which would cause some drp age over time

OP
OP
E

endlessrealm

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Yup very normal
P04 and n03 will drop as nutrients are exported through skimming or water changes.... corals need it as well which would cause some drp age over time
Okay now heres the funny part. My skimmer completely off. And its been off for few months now till my tank mature. So how my phosphate being consumed?

MERKEY

Cronies
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Did you start woth dry or live rocl?

Once they are done absorbing it the rocks will start to release it and you will need to remove it so it doesn't climb too high.

OP
OP
E

endlessrealm

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Did you start woth dry or live rocl?

Once they are done absorbing it the rocks will start to release it and you will need to remove it so it doesn't climb too high.
Im really hoping i get to that level, because its easier for me to remove it with water changes, then dose neophos, and reef roids to keep it in check. Caribsea rocks...

MERKEY

Cronies
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0